Skip to main content

Child & Dependent Adult Abuse Mandatory Reporter - Mediasite

ID : 939   
« back to classes page
0.20 Contact Hours Approved for N 2.0 CEHs Approved for other Healthcare Professionals Social Work: This course is eligible for 2.0 hours of continuing education in Iowa. Consult your governing rules to determine if appropriate subject matter criteria will apply to credit hours. As professionals working with children and adults, you play a vital role in recognizing and reporting suspected child and dependent adult abuse. You may also be designated a mandatory reporter under Iowa Code. In the case of healthcare professionals, mandatory reporters are required by law to complete two hours of training during their first six months of employment and two hours every five years thereafter in order to obtain re-licensure. This home study will enhance the knowledge of the mandatory reporter in recognizing and reporting suspected child and dependent adult abuse. Objectives: 1. Define child abuse according to Iowa law; 2. Discuss the enactment and purpose of the Iowa Child Abuse Reporting Law; 3. List those people recognized as mandatory reporters in Iowa; 4. List and discuss 8 categories of child abuse; 5. Explore the reporting procedures for mandatory reporters; 6. Discuss confidentiality issues associated with child abuse reporting; 7. Discuss the social issues relevant to dependent adult abuse; 8. Define dependent adult abuse; 9. Define caretaker; 10. List signs of environmental, physical and behavioral dependent adult abuse; 11. Explain the rights of the dependent adult to either accept or decline services; 12. List the four categories of dependent adult abuse as outlined by the Code of Iowa; 13. Discuss the purpose of the Central Abuse Registry.
Call 563-441-4100 to register Send to Friend » Request More Info » Checkout »

Class Details

0 Sessions

Location
EICC Media Site

Instructor
Instructor Staff 

Start Date:upon registration

 

Notice

Please read:  *** This Mediasite is no longer available EFFECTIVE 10/10/18: You may receive your Contact Hours/CEHs by enrolling in the Home Study, Class ID #940, for $28. Please call Registration at (563) 441-4100.

Tuition: 

$28.00


Schedule Information

Date(s) Class Days Times Location Instructor(s)
N/A - Online Instructor Staff